KPV: research profile
Last updated Oct 8, 2026 · research counts checked Oct 7, 2026
Identity
- Name
- KPV
- Also called
- Lys-Pro-Val; L-lysyl-L-prolyl-L-valine
- Sequence
- KPV (3 residues)
- Molecular formula
- C16H30N4O4
- Molecular weight
- 342.43 g/mol
- CAS number
- 67727-97-3
- Source
- PubChem CID 125672 ↗
The C-terminal tripeptide (Lys-Pro-Val) of alpha-melanocyte-stimulating hormone.
Sequences are shown only where the formula calculated from the sequence matches PubChem's formula exactly; CAS numbers only where the PubChem record lists a single valid one.
Published research record
Counts of database records matching the compound's names, as of Oct 7, 2026. They describe how much has been published and in what kind of study, not what any study found.
| Record type | Count | Source |
|---|---|---|
| PubMed records (any study type) | 101 | PubMed search ↗ |
| …indexed as animal studies, with no human tag | 45 | PubMed search ↗ |
| …indexed as clinical trials (in people) | 0 | PubMed search ↗ |
| …indexed as reviews | 10 | PubMed search ↗ |
| ClinicalTrials.gov registered studies | 0 | ClinicalTrials.gov search ↗ |
PubMed query: (KPV[tiab] OR "Lys-Pro-Val"[tiab]) AND (peptide*[tiab] OR MSH[tiab] OR melanocortin*[tiab]). ClinicalTrials.gov query: "KPV peptide". PubMed's study-type tags are added by indexers and lag new records, and keyword matches can include records that only mention the compound, so read these as rough counts.
Regulatory status
- FDA (compounding): FDA placed it in Category 2 of its bulk-drug-substances list (substances that may present significant safety risks in compounding). The nomination was later withdrawn, and it now appears on FDA's "nominated but withdrawn" list. FDA source ↗
- Research peptides from both vendors are sold for laboratory research use only, not for human or veterinary consumption. This summary isn't legal or regulatory advice.
Lab-tested KPV lots (16)
| Lot | Vendor · product | Report date | Lab | HPLC purity | Identity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| KPV10-010 (8X) | Peptira · KPV Vial 10 mg | Aug 6, 2026 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.82% | Confirmed (LC-MS) |
| KPV10N061626 | Paramount Peptides · KPV (10mg) | Jul 2, 2026 | Accumark Labs | 99.35% | Conforms |
| KPV10N061026 | Paramount Peptides · KPV (10mg) | Jun 30, 2026 | Accumark Labs | 99.35% | Conforms |
| KPV10-009 | Peptira · KPV Vial 10 mg | Jun 18, 2026 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.78% | Confirmed (LC-MS) |
| KPV10-008 | Peptira · KPV Vial 10 mg | Apr 2, 2026 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.21% | Not reported |
| KPV10N121325 | Paramount Peptides · KPV (10mg) | Jan 9, 2026 | Janoshik | 99.53% | Not reported |
| KPV10N121925 | Paramount Peptides · KPV (10mg) | Jan 9, 2026 | Janoshik | 99.55% | Not reported |
| KPV10-007 | Peptira · KPV Vial 10 mg | Dec 23, 2025 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.52% | Mass identified as KPV (LC-MS) |
| KPV10-006 | Peptira · KPV Vial 10 mg | Dec 15, 2025 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.61% | Mass identified as KPV (LC-MS) |
| KPV10-005 | Peptira · KPV Vial 10 mg | Nov 1, 2025 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.64% | Mass identified as KPV (LC-MS) |
| KPV10N091825 | Paramount Peptides · KPV (10mg) | Oct 3, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.43% | Not reported |
| KPV10-004 | Peptira · KPV Vial 10 mg | Sep 19, 2025 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.69% | Mass identified as KPV (LC-MS) |
| KPV10-003 | Peptira · KPV Vial 10 mg | Sep 12, 2025 | Freedom Diagnostics | 99.70% | Mass identified as KPV (LC-MS) |
| KPV10-002 | Peptira · KPV Vial 10 mg | Aug 28, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.80% | Not reported |
| KPV10-001 | Peptira · KPV Vial 10 mg | Jul 16, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.41% | Not reported |
| KPV5N060725 | Paramount Peptides · KPV (5mg) | Jun 20, 2025 | Janoshik | 99.70% | Not reported |
Doses reported in published studies: KPV: doses reported in published research (literature summary, not advice).
Organ systems in published research: Gut & digestive tract.