Retatrutide: doses reported in published research
Sources checked 2026-10-07 · 4 cited studies (4 human, 0 animal, 0 cell culture)
Retatrutide (LY3437943) is an investigational agonist of the GIP, GLP-1 and glucagon receptors. It is not approved by the FDA; doses below come from published phase 1-3 trials.
Human data: published phase 1b, phase 2 and phase 3 trials.
Studies in people (4)
Human Adults with type 2 diabetes, phase 1b randomized double-blind placebo-controlled trial (5 ascending-dose cohorts)
- Dose as reported
- 0.5, 1.5, 3, 3/6 or 3/6/9/12 mg (escalation sequences)
- Route
- Subcutaneous
- Frequency / duration
- Once weekly for 12 weeks
Source wording: participants were randomly assigned to receive once-weekly subcutaneous injections of LY3437943, placebo, or dulaglutide 1·5 mg over a 12-week period.
nine had 0·5 mg, nine had 1·5 mg, 11 had 3 mg, 11 had 3/6 mg, and 12 had 3/6/9/12 mg.
Urva S, Coskun T, Loh MT et al.. LY3437943, a novel triple GIP, GLP-1, and glucagon receptor agonist in people with type 2 diabetes: a phase 1b, multicentre, double-blind, placebo-controlled, randomised, multiple-ascending dose trial. Lancet 2022. PubMed PMID 36354040 ↗
Human Adults with obesity, phase 2 randomized double-blind placebo-controlled trial
- Dose as reported
- 1 mg; 4 mg (start 2 or 4 mg); 8 mg (start 2 or 4 mg); 12 mg (start 2 mg)
- Route
- Subcutaneous
- Frequency / duration
- Once weekly for 48 weeks
Source wording: Participants were randomly assigned in a 2:1:1:1:1:2:2 ratio to receive subcutaneous retatrutide (1 mg, 4 mg [initial dose, 2 mg], 4 mg [initial dose, 4 mg], 8 mg [initial dose, 2 mg], 8 mg [initial dose, 4 mg], or 12 mg [initial dose, 2 mg]) or placebo once weekly for 48 weeks.
Jastreboff AM, Kaplan LM, Frías JP et al.. Triple-Hormone-Receptor Agonist Retatrutide for Obesity - A Phase 2 Trial. N Engl J Med 2023. PubMed PMID 37366315 ↗
Human 281 adults with type 2 diabetes, phase 2 randomized double-blind placebo- and dulaglutide-controlled trial
- Dose as reported
- Maintenance 0.5 mg; 4 mg (start 2 mg or no escalation); 8 mg (start 2 or 4 mg); 12 mg (start 2 mg)
- Route
- Not stated in the abstract
- Frequency / duration
- Once weekly; endpoints at 24 and 36 weeks
Source wording: to receive once-weekly injections of placebo, 1·5 mg dulaglutide, or retatrutide maintenance doses of 0·5 mg, 4 mg (starting dose 2 mg), 4 mg (no escalation), 8 mg (starting dose 2 mg), 8 mg (starting dose 4 mg), or 12 mg (starting dose 2 mg).
The primary endpoint was change in HbA1c from baseline to 24 weeks, and secondary endpoints included change in HbA1c and bodyweight at 36 weeks.
281 participants
Rosenstock J, Frias J, Jastreboff AM et al.. Retatrutide, a GIP, GLP-1 and glucagon receptor agonist, for people with type 2 diabetes: a randomised, double-blind, placebo and active-controlled, parallel-group, phase 2 trial conducted in the USA. Lancet 2023. PubMed PMID 37385280 ↗
Human 537 adults with type 2 diabetes, phase 3 randomized double-blind placebo-controlled trial
- Dose as reported
- 4, 9 or 12 mg (separate groups)
- Route
- Subcutaneous
- Frequency / duration
- Once weekly for 40 weeks
Source wording: Participants were randomly assigned (1:1:1:1) to receive retatrutide (4 mg, 9 mg, or 12 mg) or placebo by once-weekly subcutaneous injection.
In this 40-week, phase 3, randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial
Bajaj HS, Welch M, Shah P et al.. Efficacy and safety of retatrutide, a GIP, GLP-1, and glucagon receptor agonist, in people with type 2 diabetes and inadequate glycaemic control with diet and exercise (TRANSCEND-T2D-1): a double-blind, randomised, phase 3 trial. Lancet 2026. PubMed PMID 42250575 ↗
Half-life
- Human Approximately 6 days (phase 1b trial in type 2 diabetes). Source wording:
its half-life was approximately 6 days.
glucagon receptor agonist in people with type 2 diabetes
Urva S, Coskun T, Loh MT et al.. LY3437943, a novel triple GIP, GLP-1, and glucagon receptor agonist in people with type 2 diabetes: a phase 1b, multicentre, double-blind, placebo-controlled, randomised, multiple-ascending dose trial. Lancet 2022. PubMed PMID 36354040 ↗
About this page
- Every figure above is copied from the cited source; the source wording is shown with each entry. Where a source does not state something, the page says so.
- Only abstracts, open-access full texts, registry records and FDA labels were used, so details found only in a paywalled full text may be missing.
- This page does not convert doses between species or into other measures, and gives no preparation or handling information.
See also: lab-tested lots (COA lookup) · all compounds in this section.